Skip to content

I finished!

05/08/2013

After five years of buying, selling and trading cards, I have finally completed the full 1964 Topps set. Now comes the task of upgrading some of the cards I have that are in less than VG condition. Overall, I think the set averages VG-EX, with quite a few better and quite a few worse.

I’ve enjoyed spending some of my spare time over the last few years constructing the posts here, but they take me quite a while to write, so I think I’m going to take some cues from some blogs I’ve seen for other sets and focus on writing some shorter posts with a few bullet points for each card so I can get through them a bit quicker. Otherwise I’ll be doing this blog until about 2060.

One of the things I love about this project is that I wasn’t born until 1977, so many of the players in this set are guys I don’t know a whole lot about. Everyone knows about the stars of this era, but it’s really cool to go back and learn about the players who filled out MLB rosters in 1964.

It should be noted that there are two high-profile absences from the 1964 set. Both Maury Wills and Chris Short did not have cards in this set. In fact, neither guy was pictured on a Topps card until 1967 despite being well into their major league careers. I’m not sure why Short, a decent pitcher in his time, isn’t represented. There’s long been a rumor that Wills declined to sign with Topps early in his career because he was unhappy about being passed over for a card in what turned out to be his rookie season. But that wasn’t exactly true. When Topps was signing players in 1959, Wills was in camp with the Detroit Tigers and not considered to be an MLB-quality player, so Topps didn’t bother signing him to a deal. When Wills ended up being sent back to the Dodgers and making the team, he instead signed an exclusive contract with Fleer (which ended up not working out that well, since Fleer only put him on a card in 1963). He and Topps both deny there was any bad blood, and say Fleer simply got to him first.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Elio Rubio permalink
    05/08/2013 6:25 pm

    Dear friend: (Sorry, I didn´t see your name anywhere), I tell you my story. I´m from Venezuela. I was born in 1955. When I was at the school. I collected all the cards of the 64 MLB season and I filled the whole album with the original TOPPS cards from that year, and believe or not, my Mom, in one of our moves, forgot where she put it (uffffffff), and I lost it and I´ve never seen it again. Do you believe that?. Now it´s imposible to me to try to buy it again, not even a singlew card, in my country there have been a lot of devaluations of the currency and the US DOLLAR cost a lot.. Do you have any idea where I could find the pictures of those cards to file them on a CD or DVD? Really they got a lot of memories to me. Thanks for your kind attention.

  2. secho permalink*
    05/09/2013 12:39 pm

    Hi Elio, here’s a website that has a photo of every card from the 1964 set:

    http://www.vintagecardtraders.com/virtual/64topps/64topps.html

    And you must have collected the Venezuelan set if that’s where you’re from. Those are quite the collector’s item in the States now and are very difficult to find in good condition. I assume you had the cards with the dark gray backs rather than the orange backs.

    • Elio RUBIO permalink
      04/04/2014 8:25 pm

      Dear SECHO: Sorry for answering this late. Since I sent that mail in May 8th 2013, I hadn´t received any mail from this site. Thanks a lot for the link to see the whole 1964 set. God bless you my dear friend.

    • Elio RUBIO permalink
      04/04/2014 8:27 pm

      Dear SECHO:
      I´ve just chequed the link & it says that´s the 1963 season. How is it? The 1963 cards conform the 1964 card collection or is it the 1963 cards set link?

  3. 05/16/2013 8:59 pm

    Joe Adcock and Dick Hall also didn’t have cards from 1964-66, despite playing fulltime, and having Topps cards before and after those years.

  4. Pat permalink
    07/17/2013 6:07 pm

    Cool that I stumbled on this. I started following baseball (and collecting cards) the following year, but sometimes stumbles upon 1964 cards. I remember thinking the Houston Colts’ uniforms were so much cooler than the Astros. Still do, and am pleased their new unis have a hint if the old.

  5. rickbeaver permalink
    09/27/2013 5:02 pm

    Congratulations on completing the set. 1964 was the first year I bought cards (8 years old then) and my grandfather bought a lot of them for me over the next few years. I even found some ’63 cards at a Roses store a couple of years later. Still have most of them and especially love the ’64 Mantle which came out of a pack my grandfather bought for me at the local store.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

